Lucky #7 Almond Heaven Cake + Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce

Almond meal is a dear, dear friend of mine. If you haven’t met her, please introduce yourself immediately. It can act a lot like flower but is inherently moist to the benefit of any cake. For someone like me who gets bogged down by reading recipes [Read: I like to RIFF, baby!] and following them to a T (this can be a real problem when I attempt to bake), it is a very forgiving ingredient.

Lucky #7 Almond Heaven Cake

This cake is wonderfully gluten-free and so super delicious, great to bring with you to a friends house for a dinner party, part of the fun is plating it beautifully. This recipe makes two 9 inch pan cakes – one for you and one for friends!

2 3/4 cups almond flour (I like Bob’s Red Mill)

1/4 cup gluten free all purpose flour (Again, Bob’s Red Mill makes a great one)

1 cup sour cream

1 cup unrefined cane sugar

4 large eggs

1/4 cup almond paste

1 tblsp. Earth Balance (you can use butter)

1 tblsp. lemon juice (fresh squeezed you your crusher)

1/2 tsp. baking soda

I have the RADDEST 1980’s Waring handheld mixer (oh, I should totally post a pic…I will, I will.) I always thought I would be the kind of lady that wants a fancy dancy countertop Kitchenaid mixer in like Cherry Red or the vintage green muddle look. But, I realize that there are things about my mixer that are amazing. It is incredibly easy to store, the cleaner process is amazing, and it’s just light and malleable. Prep by pre-heating the oven to 350 F, grease up your two 9 inch pans. Then I get out my mixer to make sure the consistency of the batter is nice and smooth…but honestly for those who may not have access to a mixer you can probably put in some elbow grease with a good spoon and get the job done on this cake. I start by combining the almond flour, sugar and all purpose flour, then I fold in the almond paste, sour cream, eggs, lemon juice and baking soda. I blend until the consistency is smooth and combined. Make sure you two 9 inch pans are all greased up and ready for you to pour half of the batter into each. Stick your cakes in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Since all ovens are different, make sure to check if the cakes are done by inserting a toothpick, if the pick comes out clean, you are good to go!

STRAWBERRY RHUBARB SAUCE RECIPE

Serve with a health spoonful (or two) of Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce and a dollop of sour cream. I must of died and gone to heaven because there’s an angel in the room!

One thought on “Lucky #7 Almond Heaven Cake + Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce

  1. Pingback: My ’80s Baby Vintage Waring Hand Mixer | hi + taste

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

