REVIEW: King Arthur Flour Gluten Free Bread Mix

Glutards are very familiar with the ongoing search for bread – that elusive gluten-free bread that is at least somewhat comparable to the real thing. Although there are many types of breads that I miss and crave – sourdough, whole grain, rye (mmm, rye.) – an exact replica of a traditional bread as I know it may not come anytime soon. With that being said there are some really great new recipes out there that bring something new to the bread table. Fresh G-Free bread is hard to find, so guess what, I f-ing made my own! Hello! Epiphany! I can do this…especially with a good bread mix and a set of instructions. I’m lucky. Mixes have evolved and good ones are not hard to find. But, what about the best one??? King Arthur Flour Gluten Free Bread Mix could be considered that in a few ways.

If you are looking for a white sandwich bread that is thick and hearty, this mix will deliver.

Easy to make: No bread maker required! Follow the recipe and it’s a cinch. You also don’t need a fancy dancy standing mixer, my ’80s Baby Waring Handheld Mixer was the perfect appliance. I didn’t find the baking time to be finicky. As with most recipes I paid attention to the time suggestion but also used my own judgment and made sure there was some browning at the edge of the crusty top.

Flavor: Sweet and mild but not bland. Most importantly, not ricey! Although there are some frozen rice breads I enjoy toasted with a slather of butter, I was looking for a bread that had more versatility.

Texture: Dense (like a lot of g-frees made with tapioca) but spongy and light. The outside came out crusty and crunchy. It is very easy to slice. It made fantastic garlic croutons for my Kale Caesar Salad.

Shelf Life: I sliced have the loaf into sandwich slices and stuck it in the freezer right away. The other half I put straight into a plastic sealed bag. The first day was the best, as with any bread, but it was great for a good 5 days afterward. Unlike, other breads instead of g-free bread getting stale it tends to get crumbly and stiff in nature. I think this has a lot to do with the rice flour…it’s similar to if you leave a pot of white rice in the freezer and it gets firm and dry.

The first meal I ate with this was an heirloom tomato, fresh mozzarella sandwich with olive oil, balsamic, basil, sea salt and fresh ground pepper.

One thought on “REVIEW: King Arthur Flour Gluten Free Bread Mix

  1. Pingback: Kale Bombshell Salad + Gluten Free Croutons | hi + taste

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

