Faked Fried Curry Chicken

I’m a fried chicken fiend. Colonel Sanders was like a grandfather figure and I could down a five piece of original recipe at the tender age of 8 years old. I’ve spent years in pursuit of delectable morsels of friend chicken, the crispy, the crunchy, the tangy, the gourmand – a pursuit that has sadly tapered to a halt for a variety of reasons. The first, fried chicken is hella bad for you, dudes. The second, not so gluten free friendly mon frere. So, in honor of Southern Heritage Cooking day on the 11th, I faked it a bit. The original plan was to make some fried okra (I learned this from my North Carolina born mom and its more sauteed then anything using it’s natural slime as the stick for cornmeal, comes out crunchy, a cacophony of unique taste), but the California availability is sorely limited which of course I accept because the year-long availability of so many other fantastic fruits and veggies more than makes up for it. I teased with the okra which I will make and post at a later date but now onto the crispy and juicy Southern inspired chicken with a west coast twist complete with curry and requisite gluten free bread crumbs.

Faked Fried Curry Chicken

I use drumsticks because they are easy to handle and become yummy little finger foods. But I bet this would work nicely with wings, thighs or breasts cut into thirds with the bone in and skin on or cutlets. The type of cuts of chicken you use will determine baking time. For this recipe all times and amounts are based on four drumsticks…which is like a single serving. I usually make single servings of meat because, ehem, my husband is a vegetarian…and I live in SF with a lot of other veggie heads so the meal du jour is often vegetino. Praise, Broccoli!

4 skin on chicken drumsticks, naturally raised or organic chicken is best

1 cup Glutino Gluten Free Breadcrumbs in original

2 tblsp. olive oil

1 tblsp. Muchi Curry Powder – you can find this at many grocery stores or an ethnic Indian grocery, it’s a deep yellow with a cumin base

2 tsp. sea salt

This recipe is simple, simple, simple and sure to please. Pre-heat the oven to 375 F. I get my breading mixture all ready to go by combing the breadcrumbs, muchi curry and salt in a separate bowl. I rinse my chicken with cold water before I use it to get any grimeys off – warm or hot water activates bacteria, as I  learned from my restaurant industry former roommate, so stay away from that. If you are thawing chicken from the freezer to the fridge and it is not quite ready, stick the chicken in a plastic bag and submerge in cold water.  That will speed along the process. I make sure my chicken is all patted dry and cover it in the olive oil using my soon to be baking dish. For this recipe I used a Le Creuset ceramic dish – also booty from the wedding. Then I take each leg, stick it in the breading mixture and make sure the entire surface is doused in breadcrumbs with no pink showing, sprinkling the mixture on the hard to reach places. This will help lock in the moisture of the chicken. As each leg is covered place it back in your dish.

WOW. That was easy. Stick your pan in the oven and bake for 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

