The Saint Teresa Cocktail

Every cook needs a signature cocktail, right? Well, my concoction came from a creative phase I had a while ago where I was infusing my own vodkas and using old liquor bottles from the 70’s with champagne bottle corks plugging up the top. My new favorite infusing bottle is the Bulleit  Bourbon one with it’s attractive looks, curved body and functional cork and plastic top. Bar far the best infusions were my ones that used herbs. Fruits were okay, I liked my blood orange one but the herbs really shined. In particular, my lavender infused vodka. I mixed is with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice and a drizzle of grenadine (or you can use 100% cranberry juice concentrate, if you want to avoid corn syrup) and named it The Saint Teresa after my husband’s mother – who is saint like in many ways, is currently studying for her PhD in religion, but still appreciates a delicious cocktail.

The Saint Teresa Cocktail

One part lavender infused vodka

One part fresh squeezed grapefruit juice

1 jigger grenadine per serving (can use frozen 100% cranberry juice concentrate not diluted if you want to avoid corn syrup)

The trick and wonderment of the Saint Teresa is the lavender infused vodka.  Before I knew the thought of infusing seemed tricky and evoked thoughts of decanters filled with liquid, waiting weeks on end for that special something to happen. In fact, once you’ve found some food grade dried lavender (which can be tricky) it only takes about 24 hours to go from plain to fragrant. Very minimal planning ahead required!

I found the equivalent of 2 tablespoons of food grade lavender at a health foods store and added it to 750 ml of vodka. One of my favorites to use for infusing is Vodka Monolowa with the white and blue label that you can find at Trader Joe’s. It’s high quality, very clean tasting and incredibly inexpensive. It is also a potato vodka, which I try to drink in order to follow my gluten free inclinations. Again, just let infuse together for 24 hours.

Strain the lavender out using a cheesecloth or fine metal straining.

Once you have your infused vodka, you can do this in many ways. You can make a cocktail up with a lemon twist or put it on ice with some pomegranate garnish. It is really a lovely cocktail for summer or the holidays. Pink, delicious and unique! Warning: will cause actions contradictory to with traditional sainthood. Enjoy!

One thought on “The Saint Teresa Cocktail

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year…with Fancy Jelly Shots! | hi + taste

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

