Dinner Table Tagine Chicken

The first time I had Tagine Chicken was about 5 or 6 years ago. I went to a dinner party in my home town, a friend of mine who had been living and studying in France invited some of her closest friends over for apero and dinner with her French boyfriend. He cooked. Needless to say there was a lot of fabulous wine, cheese, and conversation but the show stopped was this rich, tender, fragrant tagine. I was floored. It seemed so gourmet, difficult to make, exotic…I asked how to make it and the chef simply said, “It’s so easy, you take, this blech burg beek ffree…” Okay, I couldn’t quite remember, I had had A LOT of wine by that time. I never forgot the smell and taste of this dish and often thought about hunting down a recipe and trying it myself. Fast forward years later and I had a bunch of chicken thighs on hand, a hankering for curry, and some calvestrano olives that weren’t getting any younger. I looked up a bunch of recipes and pieced together this one using things already in my cupboard. I call this recipe Dinner Table Tagine Chicken because it is easy, delicious, can serve the whole family and could be used at a dinner party. It’s the kind of recipe that tastes like it took more work and ingenuity than it did. That’s always fun, right?

I want you to know something about this dish – you can easily just make the chicken and add not vegetables to it. It’s a great way to do meat. But, as pictured, this recipe has cauliflower and garbanzo beans added. The flavors lend themselves nicely to this combination.

Dinner Table Tagine Chicken

2.5 lbs. boneless skinless chicken thights

2 tbsp. Muchi Curry

1 tsp. paprika

2 tblsp. lemon preserves or orange marmalade

5 cloves of crushed garlic

2 cups chicken broth

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

1.5 tblsp. Montreal steak seasoning

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Half of one lemon sliced into rounds

1/4 cup chopped calvestrano or green olives

1 tblsp. Kosher salt

I used my trusty Le Creuset braiser for this one. Rinse your thighs and pat then nice and dry with a paper towel. Heat the braiser up on the stovetop on high heat. Add your oil and wait until it is liquidy and hot. Then add your thighs and sprinkle the salt and Montreal seasoning, brown on both sides for a few minutes to seal in the juices. Throw in your garlic then pour in the broth. Add the remaining ingredients (except olives),  Muchi curry, paprika, marmalade, cinnamon, and lemon slices. Cover and simmer for 1.5 hours. If you are making this in a standard pot, I would definitely stir occasionally as it cooks. Once it’s done and tender add the olives and serve. 

I make rice to go with this often and, as pictured, I’ve also added 2 cups of cauliflower florets and also a can of garbanzo beans. This can be done 10 minutes before it is done cooking, stir in the ingredients and cover until done.

Add a dollop of yogurt!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

