Savory Mint Almond Pesto

I don’t know about you but I’m a sucker for pesto. On second thought, I DO know about you and I haven’t met a single soul that doesn’t love pesto. It’s just that awesome potent sauce that works on pasta or crostini as a dip for crusty bread or a spread on a sandwich. This recipe came out of necessity. I was blessed with an abundance of mint and after one too many mojitos and as many sprigs I could put on ice cream, I still had a whole bag filled with mint. I happened to also have about a cup of basil…not quite enough for basil pesto. So I stuck the basil, equal parts mint, almonds, walnuts, Parmesan, garlic, sea salt and olive oil blended it in the Cuisinart. The next think I knew toast was slathered, a bowl of fettuccine was sauced and there was a savory pot leftover for another one or two snacks and a meal. PESTO! Next time I’ll slap a bow on that jar and give as a hostess gift.

Savory Mint Almond Pesto

1 1/2 cup mint

1 cup basil

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 shredded parmesan

1/2 cup almonds

1/4 cup walnuts

1 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

4 cloves garlic

Making a perfect pesto can be done easily using a Cuisinart, if you don’t have one a blender works as well but I like to use the chop feature. Put the basil and mint in the mixer first, add the cheese, nuts and oil, finally add the garlic and salt, cover and blend until chunky but not smooth. Slap on toast or add to a delicious fettuccine and top with shredded cheese. Serve immediately or keep in a jar refrigerated.

2 thoughts on “Savory Mint Almond Pesto

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

